WARR move


Picture taken on our second stratospheric balloon mission

Our Mission

The Munich Orbital Verification Experiment, or MOVE, is the satellite technology group of WARR. For 15 years it has been the core mission of the team to hands-on educate students via practical experience and offer them access to unique sources of knowledge. To this end, the team in-house-develops satellite hardware and tests it in space via so-called CubeSats - a standardized kind of nanosatellite. MOVE has already launched three 1U-CubeSats to space (satellites of size 10x10x11.3cm), and is still actively in contact with two of them.

Additionally, the MOVE project enables students to attend workshops and trainings offered by external companies and institutions, and to publish research together with doctoral students of the university, and gather research experience.

Hard Facts
Students80+
Nationalities12
DisciplinesAll of them
Satellites3
Publications20+
CoffeeAlways

Picture taken on our first stratospheric balloon mission

2024

Want to help?
Send a E-Mail to satelliten@warr.de!

MOVE-III

MOVE-III is a 6U-CubeSat of the third generation - two precursor models, First-MOVE and MOVE-II/MOVE-IIb, have already been launched into space. MOVE-III will carry a sensor developed by the students of WARR in conjunction with the Institute of Astronomic and Physical Geodesy (IAPG) of TUM. The sensor is called the DEbris Density Retrieval and Analysis (DEDRA) Sensor, which will detect and identify sub-millimeter space debris particles and micro-meteroids in Low Earth Orbit (LEO). It will verify theoretical space debris models, e.g. ESA's MASTER and DRAMA or NASA's ORDEM, and test them for accuracy.

The MOVE-III project also aims to with the aid of the experience gathered during the MOVE-II/MOVE-IIb missions develop a satellite bus. This bus will be adaptable to future missions and offer a platform that can, with minimal necessary changes, support a variety of CubeSat-sized payloads. This bus will form the basis for MOVE's future missions. In spring of 2022, the MOVE team completed the Preliminary Design Review (PDR) of the mission and currently works on the first prototype.

With the aid of stratospheric balloon missions, the team demonstrates its technology and tests it for functionality in cold and mechanically stressful environments. The balloons rise to over 35km in height. The team has successfully completed three balloon missions so far.

Learn More

MOVE-IIb

MOVE-IIb is the sister satellite of MOVE-II. After the construction of MOVE-II, hardware was left over which had been previously flight qualified. When a chance for a launch presented itself, MOVE-IIb was built with minimal improvements. It flew into space aboard Soyuz in 2019.

The satellite carries the same instruments and some marginally improved hardware, and has the same mission as MOVE-II.

Learn More

MOVE-II

MOVE-II is the second satellite constructed by the MOVE-Team. After First-MOVE gathered great interest among the students, MOVE-II was launched with two central tasks - the scientific mission and the education and training of the university's students. The 1U-CubeSat was develop as a cooperation between the Chair of Astronautics (LRT) and WARR. It was supported by the German Federal Ministry of Economics (BMWi) and the German Aerospace Agency (DLR).

In the space industry, new technologies are tested using precursor and demonstrator missions. MOVE-II was to have a similar function - to act as a technology demonstrator for hardware developed in-house by the LRT and WARR. The satellite bus was almost entirely self-developed; from the on board computer to the attitude control system, from the structure to the thermal simulations. Quadruple Junction solar cells, provided by AzurSpace, were tested for their long-term behavior. A comparison of behavior between coated and uncoated solar cells was made. The estimated mission duration was one year.

MOVE-II was launched on a Falcon-9 to a 575km sun synchronous Low Earth Orbit in December 2018. Four years into the mission, our Mission Control Team continues to recieve data and actively control the satellite.

Learn More

First-MOVE

First-MOVE was the first CubeSat of the MOVE project. It was initiated in 2007 by the Chair of Astronautics (LRT), headed by Prof. Dr. Ulrich Walter. First-MOVE was primarily a PhD student project, which acted as a technology demonstrator for systems developed by the LRT. The mission duration was three months. It was launched in 2013 from Orenburg, Russia into a 635km high Low Earth Orbit.

Aside from the technology developed by the LRT, First-MOVE also carried new Triple Junction GaAS/Ge solar cells provided by EADS Astrium, to evaluate their behavior and validate data collected previously on Earth, such as efficiency, power generated, etc. Due to a fault in the on board computer, the mission had to be scrubbed after two weeks in orbit. Currently, First-MOVE is still in space, to deorbit by 2038.

Learn More



Picture taken on our third stratospheric balloon mission

WARR move


Picture taken on our second stratospheric balloon mission

Unsere Mission

Das Munich Orbital Verification Experiment, kurz auch MOVE, ist die Satellitentechnik-Gruppe der WARR. Seit 15 Jahren ist es der zentrale Auftrag unseres Teams, Studierende mittels praktischer Erfahrung auszubilden und ihnen den Zugang zu einzigartigen Wissensquellen zu ermöglichen. Dazu entwickelt das Team eigens Satellitenhardware und erprobt diese im Weltraum mittels sogenannten CubeSats – einer standardisierten Variante von Nanosatellit. MOVE hat bereits drei 1U-CubeSats (Satelliten der Größe 10x10x11,3cm) in den Weltraum geschickt, und steht noch aktiv mit einem dieser Satelliten in Kontakt.

Darüber hinaus ermöglicht das MOVE-Projekt Studenten an durch Lehrstühle und externe Firmen bzw. Einrichtungen gestellten Workshops teilzunehmen und mit dem Team und Doktoranden der Universität Publikationen zu veröffentlich und Forschungserfahrung zu sammeln.

Hard Facts
Studierende80+
Nationalitäten12
StudienfächerAlle
Satelliten3
Publikationen20+
KaffeeImmer

Picture taken on our first stratospheric balloon mission

2024

Want to help?
Send a E-Mail to satelliten@warr.de!

MOVE-III

MOVE-III ist ein 6U-CubeSat der dritten Generation – die zwei Vorgängermodelle First-MOVE und MOVE-II/MOVE-IIb sind bereits in den Weltraum gestartet. MOVE-III bringt einen vom MOVE-Team zusammen mit dem Institut für Astronomische und Physikalische Geodäsie (IAPG) der TU München entwickelten Sensor (DEDRA) zum Erkennen und Identifizieren von millimetergroßem Weltraumschrott und Mikrometeoriten in den Low Earth Orbit (LEO). Dort wird er theoretische Weltraumschrott-Modelle, z.B. ESA’s MASTER und DRAMA oder NASA’s ORDEM, verifizieren.

Das MOVE-III-Projekt zielt außerdem darauf ab, mithilfe der bei MOVE-II/MOVE-IIb gewonnenen Erfahrung einen Satellitenbus zu entwickeln, der an zukünftige Missionen anpassbar ist und mit minimalem Änderungsaufwand verschiedenste Experimente in CubeSat-Größe tragen kann. Dieser Bus soll die Grundlage für die Zukunft des MOVE-Teams bilden. Im Frühjahr 2022 schloss das MOVE-Team das Preliminary Design Review (PDR) der Mission und des Busses ab, und arbeitet momentan am ersten Prototypen.

Mithilfe von stratosphärischen Ballons testet das Team seine Technologie, wie z.B. das Funksystem, auf Funktionalität in kalten und mechanisch herausfordernden Situationen in über 30km Höhe. Das Team hat bereits drei Ballonmissionen erfolgreich durchgeführt.

Learn More

MOVE-IIb

MOVE-IIb ist der Schwestersatellit zu MOVE-II. Nachdem nach der Konstruktion von MOVE-II noch Hardware vorhanden war, wurde die Chance auf einen Start ergriffen und MOVE-IIb innerhalb kürzester Zeit mit minimalen Änderungen gebaut. An Bord von Soyus flog MOVE-IIb 2019 in den Weltraum.

Der Satellit enthält dieselben Instrumente und nur leicht verbesserte Hardware gegenüber MOVE-II, und erfüllt dieselbe Funktion wie sein Zwilling.

Learn More

MOVE-II

MOVE-II ist der zweite Satellite des MOVE-Teams. Nach dem großen Interesse der Studierenden an First-MOVE wurde MOVE-II ins Leben gerufen, dieses mal mit einem geteilten Fokus – sowohl auf die wissenschaftliche Mission als auch die Aus- und Fortbildung von Studenten der Universität. Der 1U-CubeSat wurde als Kooperation zwischen dem Lehrstuhl für Raumfahrttechnik (LRT) und der WARR entwickelt. Das Projekt wurde durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft (BMWi) und das DLR unterstützt.

Im der Weltraumindustrie werden neuartige Technologien in Vorläufermissionen verifiziert und getestet. Eine ähnliche Funktion hatte auch MOVE-II, als Technology Demonstrator für vom LRT und der WARR entwickelte Technologien. Der Satellitenbus wurde fast vollständig selbst entwickelt, vom Bordcomputer über das Lageregelungssystem, der Struktur und dem Wärmeregelungssystem. Von AzurSpace gestellte Quadruple Junction Solarzellen wurden ebenfalls auf ihr Langzeitverhalten getestet. Ein Vergleich des Verhaltens beschichteter und unbeschichteter Solarzellen konnte angestellt werden. Die angestrebte Missionsdauer war ein Jahr.

Im Dezember 2018 wurde MOVE-II von einer Falcon-9 Rakete in einen 575km sonnensynchronen Low Earth Orbit gebracht. Nach vier Jahren im Weltraum empfängt unser Mission Control Team immer noch Signale und sogar Daten vom MOVE-II-Satellit, womit die Mission ein durchschlagender Erfolg ist.

Learn More

First-MOVE

First-MOVE war der erste CubeSat des MOVE-Projektes. 2007 vom Lehrstuhl für Raumfahrttechnik (LRT) unter Prof. Dr. Ulrich Walter ins Leben gerufen, war First-MOVE primär ein Doktorandenprojekt, welches als Technology Demonstrator für vom LRT entwickelte Systeme fungierte. Die Missionsdauer betrug drei Monate. Der 1U-CubeSat wurde 2013 aus Orenburg in Russland in einen 635km hohen Low Earth Orbit gebracht.

Neben der durch den LRT entwickelten Technologie wurden mittels First-MOVE auch neuartige, von EADS Astrium bereitgestellte Triple Junction GaAS/Ge Solarzellen auf ihr Verhalten im Weltraum untersucht und die auf der Erde erzeugten Daten zu Wirkungsgrad, erzeugter Leistung, etc. verifizert. Aufgrund eines Fehlers im Bordcomputer musste die Mission nach zwei Wochen im Weltraum abgebrochen werden. Bislang befindet sich der Satellite noch im All, und soll bis 2038 wieder in die Erdatmosphäre eintreten.

Learn More



Picture taken on our third stratospheric balloon mission